Minutes of the General Body (GB) meeting, held on 12th November 2010, 6 PM in the Auditorium of National Institute of Health and Family Welfare, New Delhi, during the 28th Annual Conference of ISMS.

The President welcomed the members and appraised them about the various activities and developments in the Society during the last one year. The agenda items were placed before the GB and after deliberations, the following resolutions were made:

- Confirmation of GB 2009 Minutes: The Minutes of GB 2009 held at IMS, BHU, Varanasi, were placed before the GB. Prof. Ajit Sahai, pointed out that the list of members did not include some names who became member during the ISMS Conference in Pondicherry. General Secretary was asked to verify the documents and correct the list accordingly. The GB confirmed the minutes.
- 2. **General Secretary's Report**: The GS Report for the year 2010 was presented and the same was accepted.
- 3. **Treasurer's Report**: The Treasurer's Report for the year 2010 was presented and accepted by the members. It was suggested by EC that the balance sheet, duly signed by the auditor, should be put on the Society's website. It was also recommended that the out-going Treasurer would prepare the report up to 31st March 2011 and hand over to in-coming Treasurer.
- 4. **Editor's Report**: The Editor's Report could not be presented as Dr Sreekumaran Nair could not attend the meeting. It was resolved by members by saying that that a Report may be obtained from the Editor and put on the society's website.

5. Awards:

- (a) **FSMS Award**: The President presented the recommendations of the Committee for FSMS Award for 2010 which was approved by the EC. The following members were elected as Fellow of the Society for 2010:
 - Prof. Deoki Nandan, NIHFW, New Delhi,
 - Prof. D.C. Nath, Gauhati University, Assam.

In addition, the GB approved the EC recommendation to award FSMS to Professor G.D. Shukla – the Founder Treasurer of ISMS - as per special provision available for FSMS Award for his contributions made to the Society.

- (b) **Other Awards**: The General Secretary presented the recommendation of the Award Committee for various awards and the same was approved by EC as under:
 - Prof. P. V. Sukhatme Award Dr. R. Rama, Chennai,
 - Dr. B.G. Prasad Award Dr. Abha Aggarwal, New Delhi,
 - Smt. Suajkali Jain Award Dr. Ponnuraja, Chennai.

The above was concurred by the GB.

(c) **Prof. Bhattacharya Oration**: As there was no nomination received for Prof. Bhattacharya Oration, the EC deliberated and approved the name of Prof. K.R. Sundaram, AIMS, Kochi, for the same for the year 2011.

The above was concurred by the GB.

6. Recommendation of the Nomination Committee:

The GB approved the recommendation of the Nomination Committee for the various vacancies as under:

- President Elect Prof. DK Subbakrishna, NIMHANS, Bangalore,
- General Secretary Dr. R.J. Yadav, NIMS, New Delhi,
- Treasurer Mr. S.K. Mathur, NIMS, New Delhi,
- EC Members- Prof V.K. Srivastava (full term), Dr. Ravanan (for 1 year as replacement of Dr. R.J. Yadav).

7. Constitution of Committees:

- a. **Nomination Committee**: The GB approved the EC recommendation to continue the existing Nomination Committee with Prof. VG Kaliaperumal, Chairman, Prof. K.R. Sundaram and Prof. B.L. Verma, Members, for one more term of 3 years.
- b. **Award Committee**: The GB approved the EC recommendation for the reconstitution of the Award Committee with the following members:
 - Prof. P.P. Talwar, Chairman
 - Prof. R.M. Pandey, Member
 - Prof. C.M. Pandey, Member
 - Prof. Thennarasu, Member
 - Dr. P. Venkatesan, Member

c. Committee for Improving Status of Biostatistics in Medical Colleges:

Following the concerns shown by DGHS and DG-ICMR & Secretary, Health-Research regarding scarcity of specialists of biostatistics in medical colleges in the country, the GB discussed the issue and constituted a committee with following members:

Professor Deoki Nandan, Director, NIHFW, New Delhi, Chairman Professor V K Srivastava, KGMU, Luck now, Member Professor B L Verma, MLBMC&H, Jhansi (UP), Member

This committee will look into the matter and will make efforts to improve the status of biostatistics in the medical Institutions in the country. The committee may co-opt more members if needed.

8. Venue of 2011 Annual Conference of ISMS:

The GB approved the proposal for hosting the next 2011 Annual Conference of ISMS at TRC, ICMR, Chennai, with Dr. P. Venkatesan as the Organizing Secretary who will communicate the date of the Conference to the members.

It also noted the proposal of Prof. R.K. Sony, Dayanand Medical College, Ludhiana, for organizing the ISMS Annual Conference and approved the EC recommendation for keeping the proposal in waiting to discuss in the next EC meeting along with other proposals including CMC, Vellore.

- 9. The **proposal of starting ISMS journal** was discussed at length. Number of issues including availability of money and adequate number of quality articles were discussed. There was unanimous suggestion that we should improve the quality of ISMS Bulletin and demonstrate publication of quality articles. Later, however, Prof. Deoki Nandan, Director, NIHFW, suggested deploying Prof. V.K. Tiwari to explore ways of improving the quality of ISMS Bulletin and bringing out ISMS journal as an indexed e-journal. He further suggested that the journal should contain articles on scientific writings of biostatistics. It was suggested that a group consisting of Prof. V.K. Tiwari, Prof. V.K. Srivastava and Dr. R.J Yadav to explore such possibility.
- 10. The GB approved the proposal of starting the "Dr. A. Indrayan Travel Fund for Senior Members to attend the ISMS Annual Conferences." It was suggested to write a letter of thanks to Prof. Indrayan, informing the above approval and asking him to pay the

amount to ISMS and thereafter the guidelines for the Fund may be framed.

- 11. In respect of the **award instituted by Prof. Ajit Sahai**, he suggested that Ex-office-bearers including Presidents, General Secretaries, Treasurers and those who contributed to the growth of ISMS, could be considered as candidates for the Award. A committee consisting of Prof. T. Krishnan, Prof. K.R. Sundaram and Prof. B.L. Verma, was constituted to identify broad areas that could be included in the Award and frame the guidelines for the Award. The GB approved the above.
- 12. The GB placed on record the valuable services rendered by the outgoing office bearers, namely, Prof. Arvind Pandey, President; Dr. P. Venkatesan, General Secretary; Dr. V. Selvaraj, Treasurer; and members Prof. Ajit Sahai, Prof. C.M. Pandey, Dr. K.G. Selvaraj, and Dr. V.S. Yadav.

13. The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.
